75 Comments

White Chocolate Rocky Road

Humans have fun with all sorts of naughty things, don’t they? Take that brown stuff called chocolate, for instance – they’re all crazy about it, and I’ve seen soooo many pictures of yummy chocolate cakes. But when you’re a parrot, you’re not allowed to have any – sigh….. And Mummy makes sure I never have any – it’s well hidden at the back of the fridge in a compartment that I’m not allowed to touch….

But surely I could try some white chocolate then, Mummy? No, not allowed to have that either :-(……Not even marshmallows – too much sugar!!! Talk about having strict parents…..

So, I’ll just stay here and play with my new toy

Luckily for me though, I can sample the pistachios, macadamias and cranberries…. You know where this is going don’t you? If not, I’ve got a few little clues for you – what looks really decadent, delicious and naughty, and involves white chocolate, marshmallows, pistachios, macadamias and cranberries? Yes, you’ve guessed it – it’s… White Chocolate Rocky Road!!!

Mummy says this doesn’t need too much of an introduction, as everybody should have fond childhood memories of it. This is an excellent idea as a Christmas treat, it’s really easy to make as there is no baking involved, and you can pretty much change the ingredients according to your own preferences. Or you can be really bold and experiment with various flavours or colour themes. Ours is bursting with fruit flavours (not all of them real, of course, but I don’t think anybody could claim there are any health benefits associated with eating rocky road – apart from that feeling of happiness, maybe J) and happy colours.

White Chocolate Rocky Road  (adapted from Australian GoodFood)

400g (approximately 1 lb) good quality white chocolate

50 g (1.7oz) pistachios, lightly toasted

50 g (1.7oz) macadamias

150g (5.3oz) multi coloured marshmallows

100 g (3.5oz) fruit flavoured, multi coloured jelly confectionery

100 g (3.5oz) dried cranberries

Line the base and sides of a 30 x 15 cm  (12 x 6in) baking tin with paper and set aside.

Roughly chop macadamias, marshmallows and confectionery and place in a glass or stainless steel bowl.  Add the toasted pistachios and cranberries and mix gently.

Break the chocolate into small pieces and place in a microwave safe bowl. Microwave for approximately 45 – 50 seconds, then stir. Microwave for another 30 seconds then stir again. Repeat the process if necessary, until all the chocolate is evenly melted and has reached a relatively thin consistency.

Pour the melted chocolate over the fruit, nut and confectionery mixture and mix well to ensure all pieces are thoroughly covered in chocolate.

Pour into prepared tin and then level with a spatula.

Refrigerate for at least a couple of hours (preferably overnight), then remove from the fridge, place on a cutting board (the paper will be very easy to peel off) and cut into your desired shapes and sizes. This will keep very well for at least two weeks, though it will soften slightly at warm room temperature. If you have already started your Christmas baking and require a longer shelf life for your rocky road, this should be easily achieved by replacing the nuts with different types of dried fruit or confectionery.

75 comments on “White Chocolate Rocky Road

  1. Oh my god! That just looks so colorful and beautiful! I really have to make this 🙂

  2. I just have to say – these colours do make me feel happy; so much so, that I have made a note of the colour combination. 🙂

  3. very colourful indeed! very christmasy!

  4. I so love that brown stuff called chocolate but I’d not say No to your white chocolate rocky road. Love the colors you put in it, so joyful and so yummy

  5. What exactly is multi coloured jelly confectionary..?
    gelatin?

  6. I’ve always hated Rocky Road… until now. That looks A-MAZ-ING. My nieces n nephew will think I’m the best auntie ever when I make this stunning confection for them. Better still, I’ll supervise while they make it for themselves. What fun!

  7. This looks amazing! It would be fantastic to take to in laws for Christmas Day (brownie points 😉 )

  8. Ohhh those look great. I love rocky road and this recipe is a great twist.

  9. I just found your site, thanks to the top nine list… Bravo! So many yummy things, so little time! I think I’ll try these candies first.

    We still have three days to enter our site’s birthday give away for a KitchenAid mixer. Come on over to EverydaySouthwest.com and join the party!

  10. I love it! A simple idea using white chocolate but looks so effective! Great post, thanks for sharing 🙂

  11. Beautiful and unique Rocky Road. Congrats on FoodBuzz Top 9!

  12. This is beautiful! I have never seen any rocky road look so vibrant in my life! I bet it was delicious as well! Congrats on the top 9!

  13. This is beautiful! I have never seen rocky road look as vibrant as this before! I bet it was delicious as well! Congrats on the top 9!

  14. Beautiful and wonderful combination of goodies in it.

  15. So, so pretty! From a prety, pretty parrot, too. 🙂 No kidding, this is gorgeous culinary work and beautiful photography. Brava on your well-deserved Top 9 from Foodbuzz today. Cheers from New York City! ~ Cleo

  16. This looks amazing!!!! I will definitely have to try this. Thanks for sharing!

  17. I want to try this out

  18. This is so beautiful and I thought I don’t care for Rocky Road. 🙂

  19. This is beautiful! Besides the presentation this looks good enough to eat a lot of! I’ll be a big hit if I make this…

  20. Looks fantastic and yummy! Congrats on making top 9!

  21. sounds delicious! you have inspired me to make my own version of rocky road 🙂

  22. Congrats on being in the top 9 for FoodBuzz:-) This recipe is soooo beautiful, I had to share on my facebook fan page, I hope that was ok:) I look forward to enjoying more of your recipes, and following your blog!

  23. wow, this is the best food photo I have seen in a while! Love it.

    http://milliskitchen.blogspot.com

  24. The white chocolate rocky road looks absolutely fantastic. Cannot wait to try this!

  25. This looks absolutely fantastic, great job!

  26. Gorgeous colors! Love the parrot talk. I may have to try this one. Thanks for sharing!

  27. colourful dessert looks yummy

  28. I love this! I go crazy for white chocolate, add in the nuts and marshmallows etc…WHAT’S NOT TO LOVE. Can’t wait to give this a try. Thanks so much for sharing.

  29. It’s kind of like stained glass, so pretty!

  30. This is brilliant! I love all the colors!

  31. That is the prettiest rocky road I have ever seen! What gorgeous colours, and I bet it tastes as good as it looks.

  32. This looks so colourful and festive – I bet it tastes as good as it looks.

  33. What a beautiful candy!!! I adore white chocolate 🙂

  34. That is amazingly beautiful! I must try…thanks for sharing your recipe and congrats on making the Top 9! :>)

  35. That looks too good to be true!! So many of my favorite things!

  36. I like your white chocolate….so colorful.
    Thanks for sharing.

  37. Looks so wonderful !!! Can someone tell me what jelly confectionery is ? Thanks….. I love beautiful food!

  38. I know what the fruit flavored gel candies are – and I can see those in this. But…..what are the chunks of PASTEL YELLOW, PASTEL PINK and PASTEL ORANGE ?????

  39. I found this post though Pinterest. The photo was so beautiful that I just had to come here to read the recipe! Love it! And love your site :-).

    I would like to invite you to share this post (and other posts 🙂 ) on a new photo based recipe sharing site that launched this month. The idea is simple: all recipe photographs are published within minutes of submission. And, of course, the images link back to the author’s site.

    It’s called RecipeNewZ (with Z) – http://recipenewz.com

    I hope you get a chance to visit and to share some of your delicious posts with our viewers. It would be a pleasure to have you on board 🙂

  40. I’m wondering if the gel candies aren’t similar to “fruit snacks” in the U.S. Sort of like gummy fruit, but not as hard?

  41. […] have got to tell you that I’m in love. I’m in love with this White Chocolate Rocky Road recipe from Bistro Gerard. The colorful blend of fruit, nuts, and candy submerged in a bed of […]

  42. Ohhmyyyygoodness! This is so beautiful. Came across it by accident while searching the internet and I’m thrilled! It is easy, delicious and I can change the flavor just by changing the addins! What a wonderful idea. It is only August here in California and i can’t wait to include this in a gift pack. I know…I’ll make it for Halloween and treat the neighbors! Thanks so much for sharing! PS I much admire Chef Gerard.

  43. Can you please give a conversion to ounces. what size pan is a 30 X 15 cm in inches?

  44. I just made these and they are my new favourite .. thx these will make great gifts!

  45. Not sure if it was the brand of chocolate I used or what( Merckens) but it took a full 2 lbs, (weighed it before hand so I know that is accurate, 32 oz total so 3 oz more per batch) for a doubled recipe. I probably could have used a few oz more to be sure of a thick coating thru out but that was all I had. Just a warning to have extra on hand in case. After I mixed it with the 26 oz called for (and I had 3 oz less nuts and 3 oz less fruit and no jellies so had I used those it would have been skimpier yet), some was barely coated so I put another thin layer over it all and stamped it on the counter. Sure hope it holds together when I unmold it as it would be an expensive flop for sure lol!

    • Hi Janet, I have now included the imperial measurements for all ingredients called for in the recipe. If you double the quantity, the fruits and nuts should total approximately 16 oz. In my experience, the melted chocolate does not need to fully coat all ingredients, even a very thin coating will do. It’s also best to refrigerate the rocky road for at least a few hours, as this will help it set quicker and better than when leaving it at room temperature.

  46. Janet , the conversion tool I used was way off lol! It stayed together for the most part and the “less than perfect” pieces were gobbled up quickly,no sense wasting it;)

  47. This looks absolutely gorgeous 😀 When I saw the image, I assumed the “multi coloured jelly confectionary” pieces were dried pineapple, which I adore, so I might try that in my own attempt at this recipe instead. Glace ginger might be fun too, for a little spice! I just love how colourful your rocky road looks. Thank you for sharing!

  48. […] When all Gods poured out all heavenly tasting ingredients to create one blissful dessert, I think this dessert is the end result! This dessert is made with so much artistry and daintiness! I think this has all the lavish flavors that you’re looking for a dessert! Exceptionally made for Gods! Eating this kind of dessert would make you feel like one of the Gods!For the recipe and full instructions go here […]

  49. I look forward to making this. I don’t know what fruit flavoured, multi coloured jelly confectionery is. Can you describe it?

  50. […] There would be beautiful individual cherry cheese cakes, strawberry pavlova, and some of this beautiful white chocolate rocky road. […]

  51. Are the fruit jellies, jelly beans or fruit gummy bears? Thanks

  52. […] this unusual recipe I made this week has been one pinned to my Pinterest board via Bistro Gerard for months–I forgot about it, but when I saw it there again the other day, I had to make […]

Leave a comment